Adrenaline Rush – Soul Survivor


Pristine, hook-laden, eighties flavoured melodic hard rock…

MR’s David Waterfield is enjoying the second Adrenaline Rush album, released through Frontiers Music out from 21 April 2017, and is hoping for some UK live dates.

The 2014 debut album by Adrenaline Rush was fired by Tave Wanning’s undoubted passion for melodic hard rock and driven by the talents of Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse), who produced the album, co-wrote all but two of the songs and provided all the instrumentation. For this album, Adrenaline Rush’s blonde bombshell lead vocalist has collaborated with fellow Swede Fredrik Folkare (Firespawn, Unleashed) and the result is an evolution, rather than a revolution, in the band’s sound.

Soul Survivor remains faithful to the pristine, hook-laden, eighties flavoured melodic hard rock of their debut; but the sound here is heavier, more muscular, a touch darker and takes some unexpected twists and turns. ‘Love Like Poison’ is the lead single but, for me, it is one of the weaker tracks on the album; far better – and more representative – is the fast and furious, foot-to-the-floor opener ‘Adrenalin’, or the excellent riff-driven ‘Breaking The Chains’, which are both album highlights. ‘Soul Survivor’ showcases the band’s gentler, more reflective side and provides a pause for breath before the energetic air-punching rock of ‘Stand My Ground’ and ‘My Life’ picks up the pace once more.

The edgier approach suits Adrenaline Rush admirably and there is an attitude and swagger to some of the tracks here; ‘Don’t Wake Me Up’, with its locomotive rhythm and Aerosmith-esque chorus brings a hugely enjoyable groove to the party whilst ‘Break The Silence’ and ‘Crash’ – the heaviest tracks on the album – are big on harmonies and even bigger on guitars and pack a considerable punch.

Although slightly less immediate than their debut, Soul Survivor is a more substantial and satisfying collection; heavier, punchier and more expansive than its predecessor, it is a spirited melodic hard rock album that grows in stature with repeated plays. These songs are built to be played live and I really hope that the band tours the album or line up some festival dates soon. With a strong second album behind them Adrenaline Rush have a chance to kick on and build a following for themselves if they can seize the opportunity.

Adrenaline Rush – Soul Survivor8 out of 10

Track List:

  1. Adrenaline
  2. Love Like Poison
  3. Breaking The Chains
  4. Soul Survivor
  5. Stand My Ground
  6. My Life
  7. Break The Silence
  8. Sinner
  9. Shock Me
  10. Wild Side
  11. Don’t Wake Me Up
  12. Crash