Abyssal – Novit Enim Dominus Qui Sunt Eius


Review by Jason Guest

Iron Bonehead Productions

Sounding like something by Lustmord, opening track ‘Forebode’ is dark, ominous, and subtly mysterious. What follows, however, is not be subtle. Given the dense, murky textures and the foetid stench that arises from this album, pestilent may be the most apt term. Death, doom and black are mashed to a bloody pulp in tracks that range from three and a half- to almost eleven-minutes long. Huge devastating riffs collide with bone-crushing drums and unearthly and corpse-crunching vocals in a miasma of abrasive and deranged malevolence.

‘The Tongue Of The Demagogue’ and ‘Under The Wretched Sun Of Hattin’ are gargantuan, the dark, oppressive heft of both eight minute tracks grinding and tearing away like two rabid slavering beasts hell-bent on massacring all that stand in their way. The first of two brief respites, the nightmarish and atmospheric ‘Elegy of Ruin’ (like its counterpart ‘Elegy of Staves’), emanates from some cold, hellish torture chamber somewhere beneath the surface. With ‘The Headless Serpent’ dragging the tempo down, the album’s unending cavalcade of death and destruction is bleakly rendered in ten-tonne tones and doom-driven sluggishness that contrast well with the onslaught that is ‘A Sheath Of Deceit’. More walls of discordant and mangled guitar noises collide in the pandemonium of the last four tracks, instrumental ‘Created Sick; Commanded To Be Well’ standing alongside ‘The Last King’ as the album’s crowning glories.

While at almost an hour long, there’s a lot going on and much to take in (maybe too much here and there), the sheer weight of this thing is incredible. It’s colossal. From the dragging and droning of doom through the primal and preternatural of black metal into the mercilessly fast savagery and atmospheric density of death metal, there is not a moment on Novit Enim Dominus Qui Sunt Eius that isn’t akin to exhaust fumes filling your lungs, cement slowly drying in your veins, and mountains collapsing onto your frail skeleton. In a word, essential.With only 500 copies being made available on vinyl, you’d better be quick.

Abyssal – Novit Enim Dominus Qui Sunt Eius8.5 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Forbode
  2. The Tongue Of The Demagogue
  3. Under The Wretched Sun Of Hattin
  4. Elegy Of Ruin
  5. The Headless Serpent
  6. A Sheath Of Deceit
  7. Elegy Of Staves
  8. A Malthusian Epoch
  9. As Paupers Safeguard Magnates
  10. Created Sick; Commanded To Be Well
  11. The Last King